EV Idle Fees in Germany 2026: What They Cost, When They Start and How to Avoid Them
📅 Published on October 11, 2026
Information as of 11 October 2026. Operator figures come from an AUTO BILD overview (table dated 22 October 2025) and a blog comparison (last updated 25 September 2026); the court ruling dates from 2024. Terms change often – the terms in your provider's app are always what counts. This article is not legal advice. The focus is on Germany.
You have finished charging and are still in the café or the supermarket – the car's battery has long shown 100 percent. During exactly this time a clock is running at many providers: the idle fee (also called blocking fee, standing-time fee or overstay fee). Its purpose is to stop charge points that other drivers need from staying occupied. For drivers it is mainly a cost item that is easy to overlook, because it appears neither in the price per kilowatt-hour nor, at first glance, in the tariff overview.
This article explains how the fee works, what different providers charge according to published overviews, what a German district court decided about it, how it differs from a parking fine, and how to avoid it in everyday use. For general charging manners see EV Charging Etiquette; for the fee as part of total cost, see Public EV Charging Tariffs in Germany 2026.
What the idle fee is – and what it is not
The idle fee is a private-law charge that the charging provider levies under its contract terms. It is usually billed per minute and only starts after a grace period has run out – at many providers measured from the start of the charging session (the “connection time”), at some from the end of charging. Depending on the provider, the grace period differs considerably between normal AC charging and DC fast charging, and there is often a cap per charging session.
It should not be confused with the fine from the local authority. Anyone who occupies an EV bay without entitlement, or parks there without charging, risks a warning fine of 55 euros according to an overview by emobility.energy (sources retrieved 6 August 2026); for exceeding the permitted parking time as an entitled EV, the same overview gives 20 to 40 euros. In cities such as Hamburg, vehicles parked without entitlement are sometimes towed, which according to that source can cost “several hundred euros”. All of this is independent of the idle fee: one goes to the state, the other to the provider – and both can apply at once.
How much does it cost? Amounts by provider
The range is wide. The table below reproduces values from the AUTO BILD overview “Blockiergebühren beim Elektroauto-Laden” (published 24 October 2025, table dated 22 October 2025). Terms may have changed since – the table shows orders of magnitude, not today's valid prices:
| Provider | Fee per minute | Starts after | Cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| EnBW | 10 ct (all tariffs) | 240 min | €12 |
| EWE Go | 10 ct at partner stations, none at its own | 240 min | not stated |
| Maingau Autostrom | 10 ct | AC 180 min / DC 60 min | €12 |
| Hamburger Energiewerke | 5 ct, daytime only (6–20 h) | AC 181 min / DC 61 min | €18 |
| Berliner Stadtwerke | 2 ct | AC 240 min / DC 120 min | €20 |
| BMW Charging | 6 ct | 90 min (varies by site) | not stated |
| Allego (HPC only) | 24.6 ct (“Überschreitungsgebühr”) | 45 min | not stated |
| Tesla (Supercharger) | 50 ct at ≥50 % occupancy, €1 at 100 % | 5 min | no upper limit per the article |
| Ionity | none | – | – |
A more recent blog comparison (emobilitaetblog.de, last updated 25 September 2026) adds for EnBW mobility+ and ADAC e-Charge a DC fee of 10 cents per minute after 45 to 60 minutes and, for EWE Go, a cap of €24 per session; it puts the range across providers at 5 to 50 cents per minute. Because that comparison partly relies on secondary sources, treat it as orientation only.
Two patterns stand out. First, grace periods for normal charging are generous (usually three to four hours), but short for fast charging (45 to 60 minutes or less). Second, many providers differentiate between their own stations and third-party stations: the AUTO BILD table lists ADAC e-Charge and Aral pulse at 15 cents per minute at third-party stations, but no fee at Aral pulse's own stations. If you charge with a roaming card, look not only at the operator's display but also at the card's terms.
What it costs in practice: worked examples
The examples below use only the values above (note the date of the table):
| Situation | Calculation | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| EnBW, 30 minutes over the grace period (after 240 min) | 30 × €0.10 | €3.00 |
| EnBW, cap reached | €12 ÷ €0.10 = 120 min | €12.00 (after 6 hours in total) |
| Hamburger Energiewerke, 30 minutes over (daytime, AC) | 30 × €0.05 | €1.50 |
| Tesla, 20 fee-minutes at 50 % occupancy | 20 × €0.50 | €10.00 |
| Tesla, 20 fee-minutes at 100 % occupancy | 20 × €1.00 | €20.00 |
| Allego (HPC), 15 minutes over | 15 × €0.246 | €3.69 |
For normal charging the amounts are moderate and mostly capped; for fast charging, and especially with tiered models like Tesla's, the same “short delay” can cost many times more. That is also logical – a busy fast charger loses more throughput per minute of occupation than a wallbox at the kerb.
💶 Prices and idle fees reported by drivers – where available
Find charging stations with prices →What a court says: AG Karlsruhe, 6 C 184/23
Whether such fees are permissible was decided by the Amtsgericht (district court) Karlsruhe in a ruling of 4 January 2024 (case no. 6 C 184/23). An electric-car driver had demanded a refund from EnBW of idle fees totalling €19.80 incurred on three occasions in March 2022; he charged on the “ADAC e-Charge” tariff, which the ADAC offers together with EnBW. The fee applies after more than 240 minutes of standing time and, according to electrive.net, is 10 cents per minute up to a maximum of €12 (the court's press release said 12 cents; electrive points to 10 cents in an editorial note. On the cap the sources differ: electrive says “per charging process”, beck-aktuell says “per day”).
The court dismissed the claim. Its reasoning: the provider has a legitimate interest in making the charge point quickly available to other customers. The fee had been disclosed both when the contract was concluded and at the start of charging, and the claimant had agreed to the terms in the app. The decision is final.
For context: this is the decision of a single district court on one specific clause with a four-hour grace period. It is not a blank cheque for any fee level or structure; whether a fee is reasonable in another case depends on the circumstances. It does show the line, though: transparently disclosed, time-based fees are in principle possible.
Politics: night-time fees are meant to be banned – not yet law
According to AUTO BILD, the Federal Ministry of Transport proposed in its “Masterplan Ladeinfrastruktur” to ban night-time idle fees (22:00 to 08:00) at normal charge points and to charge only after charging has ended. According to AUTO BILD this would require a change to the EU's AFIR regulation; so far it is a proposal, not applicable law. Some providers have already reacted: Berliner Stadtwerke, per AUTO BILD, has charged no fee between 22:00 and 06:00 since 1 July 2025, and for the Ladeverbundplus network in northern Bavaria the overview lists free standing between 22:00 and 08:00. If you charge overnight, still do not rely on it – check your provider's night clause.
How to avoid the fee
1. Read the terms before you start. According to the Karlsruhe ruling, the fee is shown in the app at contract conclusion and at the start. A glance at grace period and cap takes ten seconds.
2. Use an end-of-charge alert. Many vehicle and provider apps can notify you when charging ends. If you will be away longer, also set a timer for the grace period minus 15 minutes.
3. Keep fast-charger stops short. That is where the grace period is shortest and the per-minute price highest. If you are shopping or eating, plug in at a normal charge point where the grace period is much longer – which is also the idea behind our article on making the most of a charging break.
4. Check your card when roaming. As the ADAC e-Charge and Aral pulse examples show, the same card can bill differently at own and third-party stations. How cards and operators interact is explained in EV Roaming Cards Explained.
5. Know providers without a fee. According to AUTO BILD, Ionity, Jet and the Münchener Stadtwerke, among others, charge no idle fee – note the date of the table.
Idle fees in Elunio
When reporting a price in Elunio, drivers can optionally also enter an idle fee in cents per minute (0 = none). Where such reports exist, the price tab shows it as “Blockiergebühr (Community)”. This does not replace the provider's terms – it is feedback from other drivers who were actually at the station. Data is densest in Baden-Württemberg and the DACH region; elsewhere there are fewer reports, and Elunio cannot promise complete coverage. Why reported prices are often more meaningful than list prices is covered in Community Prices vs. List Prices.
Frequently asked questions
When does an idle fee start?
Each provider sets this itself. For normal charging the grace period is, per the AUTO BILD overview, often three to four hours; for fast charging often 45 to 60 minutes. Tesla starts the fee after 5 minutes when a Supercharger is heavily occupied.
Are idle fees legally permitted?
The Amtsgericht Karlsruhe held an EnBW clause valid (ruling of 4 January 2024, case no. 6 C 184/23). That is an individual decision; in case of doubt, consumer advice centres or legal advice can help.
What is the difference between an idle fee and a parking ticket?
The idle fee is a charge by the provider. The warning fine (€55 for unauthorised parking in an EV bay per emobility.energy) comes from the authorities. Both can occur together.
Is there a night-time rule?
The Federal Ministry of Transport has proposed banning night-time fees, but per AUTO BILD there is no statutory rule yet. Some providers voluntarily waive the fee at night.
Conclusion
The idle fee is not a surcharge on electricity but a charge for occupying the bay. For normal charging it is usually mild and capped; for fast charging it can quickly exceed the cost of the energy itself. If you know the grace period and cap before you start, activate an end-of-charge signal and use fast chargers only for charging, you will practically never pay it.
Sources: AUTO BILD – “Blockiergebühren beim Elektroauto-Laden” (24 Oct 2025, table dated 22 Oct 2025), autobild.de · electrive.net – “Amtsgericht Karlsruhe: EnBW-Blockiergebühren sind rechtmäßig” (25 Jan 2024) · beck-aktuell – “Wer zu lang parkt, zahlt Blockiergebühr” (5 Mar 2024) · emobility.energy – “Parken an Ladesäulen: Regeln, Verwarngelder & Blockiergebühren im Jahr 2026” (retrieved 6 Aug 2026) · emobilitaetblog.de – “Blockiergebühren Ladesäule 2026” (last updated 25 Sep 2026)